Zack SteeleZack Steele, Executive Director

Zack Steele has been the District’s Executive Director since 2016.

Zack is continuing the Conservation District’s longstanding goals of protecting clean water and healthy soil in Hancock County.

Zack and his wife Paige returned to Hancock County two years ago after living in Southern Maine for five years. During that time Zack, worked for the Wells Reserve at Laudholm, a partner of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) dedicated to long-term scientific research stewardship and education of coastal wetlands.

At the Wells Reserve, Zack coordinated over 70 workshops as part of the Protecting our Children’s Water initiative and helped the City of Sanford develop a natural resource conservation plan.

In 2012, Zack completed a Master of Science at the University of New Hampshire’s Department of Natural Resources and the Environment.

Since returning to the area, Zack and Paige have bought a home in Ellsworth, and started a family — their son, Henrick, will be two this summer. When Zack isn’t working he can be found outside gardening, hiking or skiing.

Board of Supervisors

Mark Whiting, Chair

Teresa Davis, Vice Chair

Wilbur Saunders, Treasurer

Kate Mrozicki

Vacant—Appointed Supervisor

Associate Supervisors

Marjorie Saunders

William Thayer

Paul Volckhausen


Supervisor Elections

Persons desiring to run for the office of District Supervisor for the Hancock County Soil & Water Conservation District should contact the District Office to obtain nomination papers.

Persons who desire to run for the office of Supervisor must be a registered voter residing within the boundaries of the Hancock County Soil & Water Conservation District.

Persons wishing to vote in the election of District Supervisor must contact the District in order to receive a ballot or stop in the District office to vote.  All registered voters within the boundaries of the Hancock County Soil and Water Conservation District are eligible to vote.